Miss Presidential

What is a seventeen year old doing running a political blog?   Let’s put it this way.

On a muggy Friday night in August during one of the first football games of the season, I wasn’t paying much attention to the field.  A friend and I were absorbed in a conversation about the primary race.  The inexplicable (to us back then, at any rate) popularity of Donald Trump’s campaign troubled us both.  I didn’t give much thought to voicing my opinion, sure that the crowd around us was more engrossed in the fact that we’d just scored a touchdown than anything I said.  I mentioned that I hated the way his campaign seemed to be centered around hatred–against Muslims, against immigrants.

A classmate that I’ve known since the first grade whipped around, looked me dead in the eyes, and said coldly, “He hates you, too.”

In the months that have gone by since the election, and then since the inauguration, I’ve been turning these words around in my mind.  He hates you, too.  Of course, these are not the words of the president, just a teenaged supporter who probably forgot his words ten minutes after he said them.

But I haven’t been able to.

I’ve now been following politics for two years now.  I realize that wading in for the first time is intimidating, so that’s why I started this blog.  I’m going to do my best to present what’s actually going on in America, beyond the fake news and the alternative facts in a way that’s hopefully easy to understand.

After all, it was Thomas Jefferson who said, “An educated citizenry is a vital requisite for our survival as a free people.”

I hope you’ll join me in becoming one of the educated citizenry.

4 thoughts on “Miss Presidential”

  1. Pingback: Miss Presidential

Leave a Reply

